The last Post

Well there you have it, my time as a Mentor, I really hope that you have enjoyed reading this as I have writing it. the blog was never going to be this long but you know once you start writing its hard to stop, in fact there’s so much I didn’t include but then I guess if you really want to know what it’s about go do it.

This has been one of the best experiences ever, full of up’s and downs laughter, tears, toil and sweat but I have loved every minute.

I can’t single out the best bit but to see the kids change, watching them have new life adventure was priceless, I would quite happy do it all again.

My follow mentors, thank you what a great bunch of people you are, Spencer, Barry, Nigel, Jo, Hayley (H), Julia, Ian, Jason, Kristian ( and your man-servant), Keith, Jacky, Graham, Tanya, Jason, Gemma

Class of 2011 week 2

It was amazing working with you all, and  not once did I hear any slagging off or bitching in the group which is very rare.

Thanks to Nicky and the team at DHL, Howard and his instructors, Matt my instructor and not forgetting the Kids of Scott team, in fact all the kids on week two because they made it just as good for the other mentors.

Thanks to Dave ( the mountain Goat) all the very good friends that have supported me on walks and climbs and to my understanding wife who puts up with my kit all over the house and never moans at the weekends away I spend on treks.

If you do work for DHL and have read this blog I do really hope it has inspired you to apply, or if you have it has given you an insight as to what experience you are going to have, and I do envy you.

So what now? I know the Mentors are arranging a few walks and maybe a bit of reading which will be great. As for Dave and myself, well we are planning a trek next May to walk Coast to Coast on the island of Corsica over 10 days, and yes once again to raise money for charity, so back in training it is. Will I blog it? who knows.

So this is Me signing out from my Mentoring Adventures

We are all better than we know,

if only we can be brought to realise this,

we may never again be prepared to settle for anything less.

Kurt Hahn co-founder of Outward Bound Trust

The End……….or is it

 

About Russ

Hi I'm Russ Wordie, my blog site is mentorsmemoirs,this is about my time as and leading up to a weeks course as a Mentor on the outward bound project 2011, what made me do it and what I have done over the past year.
This entry was posted in Aberdovey. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The last Post

  1. Maybe I could encourage you to organise a DHL (charity) canoe trip eg The Great Glen from Fort William to Inverness – 4 or 5 days of immense paddling in a stunning location..?

    Russ, you were an inspiration to our group throughout the week, as I’m sure all the mentors were to their own groups. The 2nd week participants were an inspiration to themselves in many ways and OB experiences are visible both inside and outside the heart and soul.

    • Russ says:

      Hi Matt,
      I will give you a call on that one and see what we can arrange, ie cost Numbers and dates but it sounds like a good plan.

      Thank you also for the kind words, as Mentors we are going to keep in touch with each other, I think the week has absolutely reach heart and soul, I will look at what else I can do to support OB going forward. again thanks for a great week

  2. Barry Pawley says:

    great read big man I am sat at home feeling quite humble, I have started to type up my pages of notes, it wont be long. Thanks for the memories friend for life see you soon

    • Russ says:

      Thanks mate, it was made easy to write I had great company. looking forward to reading your stuff, and yea I agree, great friendships made.

  3. Tanya Cotter says:

    ah russ, feeling even more emotional now!!! Loved every minute of our OB adventure!! xxx

Leave a Reply

